SA Cricket Awards

Posted on/at 8:30 AM by The Cricket Corollary

On Tuesday, 30 June 2009, Cricket South Africa will honour all the Cricket heroes of the 2008/09 season.

Gerald Majola, CSA CEO, said: "These achievements are led by the Proteas who produced the best season by a national team in South African cricket history. Under the captaincy of Graeme Smith, they beat all comers in many parts of the cricketing world, including Test series against Australia and England on their home turfs...Their victorious march has been under-pinned by a structured development programme, leading from grassroots to the pinnacle of the Proteas. Participants in these structures are also going to be honoured. It is most pleasing to see that both professional and amateur cricket in South Africa share the same aim: to pursue excellence at all times...It is going to be a great day after a great season, and CSA is most grateful to sponsors Standard Bank, Castle, MTN and Bakers Biscuits for making it possible not only to play the game but celebrate it afterwards as well."

The day will start off with a Bakers breakfast, being the sponsor of SA mini cricket, they will be rewarding the young amateurs. The highlight of the awards breakfast will be... (yum, there must be cookies for breakfast).... the introduction of the Khaya Majola Lifetime Achievement Award. This will be presented to an individual who has made a selfless and enduring contribution over a lifetime to the advancement of South African cricket.

The rest of the day the Proteas will be playing golf. They will be playing with sponsors, media and celebrities in the CSA Golf Invitational 2009, at Johannesburg Country Club, Woodmead.

Finally in the evening the 2009 SA Cricket Awards Gala Dinner will start, this will be aired live on SuperSport. Last year it was Dale Steyn who snatched up most of the awards...SA Cricketer of the Year, Castle Test Cricketer of the Year, SA Players’ Player of the Year and SuperSport Fans’ Cricketer of the Year.

Lets take a look at some of the catagories and the candidates for the 2008/09 season: